This and That

Little things that make me happy

Posted on: January 26, 2012

I believe it’s so important to think about all the things that you love and make you happy. Thinking about what I love reminds me to count my blessings, especially when life is going bad. Of course this is easier said than done but in this vain, today I am remembering the little things.

1. Reading a good book. Not that I have tons of time to read, but when a good book crosses my path it’s truly a thing of joy. In my busy days I always forget how much I love to read…until I find a good book.

2. Making weekend breakfasts for my family. Until recently, I was never a breakfast person. Give me a bowl of cereal and I am good to go. But since I discovered my passion for cooking making fun, weekend breakfasts for my family makes me so happy. I catch myself thinking throughout the week what I am going to make. This weekend will be french toast stuffed with strawberries and oatmeal with peanut butter and bananas (both courtesy of the Eat This, Not That cookbook).

3. Reading a magazine. Talk about a rare occasion, but when both boys are either napping or playing nicely just casually flipping through a magazine is so soothing. I can actually feel the stress leave my shoulders.

4. Exercising. Since my back injury I have discovered how much I love and miss exercising, specifically running. I think it’s all those endorphins. I can’t wait till I can run again!

5. Coffee. I LOVE coffee. It jumps starts my day and I am pretty sure I am an addict, but I don’t care. I carve it and I always feel better after I have had my coffee. Mmmmmmm coffee!

What little things make you happy?

6 Responses to "Little things that make me happy"

What a great blog. It is so easy to center on the bad/unpleasant things in life – we should count our blessings. I like to walk with hubby, take care/watch our grand children (playing/talking with them is so great), making bread and soup, read a good book, weed the yard (yes weed – as one gets older being outside is great), being outside, etc, etc, etc
Thanks for this great blog.

I agree! If I don’t consciously think of the blessings in each day, they slip away too fast, and also, sometimes I might go crazy due to all the hard stuff! I love coffee, too!! And a good book… I am absolutely dieing to read The Hunger Games! I haven’t read a book in ages and ages. I love a crackling fire, my kids’ laughter, creating things, balking, and talking with friends.

Reading. Pretty much anything. What are you reading right now? (I love asking people that question as it opens up a great conversation)

And…I’ve recently learned that I can cook. Really! And I enjoy it. Although it is a LOT of work for something that is gone within minutes.

Frume Sarah, I am currently reading 11/22/63 by Stephen King. It’s about a guy who goes back in time to try and stop the JFK assassination. I am about half way through and it’s pretty good. I totally agree about how fast our hard work is in our family’s bellies but it’s still fun to try new recipes!

Yes, although the family doesn’t always appreciate all of the experimentation. Working on THAT post right now.

I got that book for my brother this past Chanukah based on the review I heard on NPR. He loved it. The premise is just so intriguing.

What’s the name of the book? I agree -my boys don’t appreciate the food I cook either. They would rather just have mac n’ cheese and chicken nuggets. Oh well, more for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

