This and That

My son’s conviction

Posted on: January 19, 2012

The past few days I have been both flabbergasted and amazed at my son’s conviction. I knew he was stubborn, I knew he was determined but his conviction to stick to his guns has been quite remarkable.

Hubby and I have been trying a new tactic with my son to get him to eat his dinner. He never eats his dinner…never. Even if it’s burgers or pizza, some kind of fight always ends up happening to get him to eat the whole thing. Hubby figures the fight is just about getting attention and we shouldn’t play into it, so the past three days we have stopped fighting him. We told him if he wants to eat fine and if not that is fine too, but he couldn’t get dessert or extra food later if he didn’t eat. The first night he didn’t eat and though he whined later that night about wanting a graham cracker didn’t seem too bothered with not eating and fortunately for us he didn’t get up any earlier. The second night I tried the dessert tactic. I told him I was making cookies after dinner and he could only help and get a cookie if he ate dinner. Do you know what he did? He stuck to his guns. He wasn’t eating dinner and no amount of cookie making or eating was going to stop him. I was floored. Throughout the night hubby and I talked up how yummy the cookies smelled, how good they tasted, and even asked my other son multiple times how good his cookie was. The result? Nothing. He didn’t flinch. The same thing happened the third night. We all ate cookies and he just sat there wanting to know when we were done so we could start playing.

I am simply amazed. He won’t eat dinner, even when a cookie is waved in his face. This kid has the will of a giant and nerves of steel. Truly, my son is my hero for this and I feel very confident that as he is faced with peer pressure as he grows up he will be able to stand firm to his convictions.

I never thought I would be so proud of my son for not eating dinner.

4 Responses to "My son’s conviction"

Wow – I think I would eat almost anything if I would get a cookie as a reward. But not to whine about it is something else altogether. He does have a strong constitution. Yea for you and hubby for handling this as you are

Wow- that is some serious committment! I got this new Rachel Ray kids cookbook for my little one and since she’s started helping make dinner she’s been going after veggies she wouldn’t have touched before. Maybe have him help you pick out a cookbook? Good news is, kids eat when they’re hungry. If only could learn the same lesson!

That’s a great idea Carrie! Thanks I will try that cookbook

Your son is a trooper. When I was a kid, I would’ve done anything for a cookie. They were my favorite. I was in disbelief when I read this, I was like “He didn’t want the cookies!”. Hopefully the little guy starts eating dinner soon.

Leave a Reply

