This and That

If You Let Me Play Sports

Posted on: December 28, 2011

In 1995 there was a Nike ad that resonated with me so profoundly I still think about it today. Yes I am old. I still like something from almost 17 years ago, so what! Let’s move one. If You Let Me Play Sports ad targeted the importance of allowing young girls to play sports and the benefits that come out of it. Such as:

  • 50% less likely to get breast cancer
  • Higher self esteem
  • Greater confidence
  • Suffer less depression
  • More likely to leave a man who physically abuses her
  • More likely NOT to get pregnant before she’s plans to

In a world that still view women as sex objects, where women still only make  77.5 cents to every dollar a man makes, and in a time when pre-teens are having sex I think this ad is a reminder of how important it is to build up our girls and give them the confidence they need to stand up to this world that keeps trying to push them down.  As a women and a girl who played sports, this ad was and is so empowering to me. I do not have any daughters but if you do please, please let her play sports!

Watch this ad and if you are a woman I guarantee that you will be so pumped up you will want to lift some weights. If you are a man I am not sure how this will make you feel, but you should probably lift some weights too. I’m just saying.

Leave a Reply

