This and That

My Favorite Cookbooks

Posted on: December 8, 2011

In the past year or so I have started to enjoy cooking. This is quite impressive considering before this ear I could only make Mac n’ cheese and maybe soup…from a can. In fact, hubby used to do most of the cooking until recently and most of my first recipes were ones he taught me. Now I enjoy it so much I would dare say I love it. I love trying out new recipes, using new ingredients, and making a good home cooked dinners for my boys. So, for today’s post I am going to share with you my three favorite cookbooks/websites. I hope you will try these out and find some great new meals to add to your recipe box.

1. Cook This Not That 2011 – From the Eat This Not That book series, David Zinczenko (Men’s Health magazine columnist) teaches you to make your favorite restrauant meals while saving hundreds, sometimes thousands, of calories. I have made most of the meals in this cookbook and I would say nintety five percent of them are amazing and in our regular dinner rotation. I asked Santa for the 2012 edition because I am so addicted to this series.

2. SkinnyTaste.com  – This cooking blog has healthy recipes by Gina and has become one of my top go-to sites. I have found many delicious, good-for-you meals on this site that all my boys love. I will say that some of her recipes are a bit on the bland side but nothing some extra spices can’t easily fix.

3. The Pioneer Woman Cooks (thepioneerwoman.com) -Famous country blogger Ree Drummond is known for her wit, her funny turn of a phrase, and her outstanding country cooking. Literally everything I have made of her’s is to die for! Be warned though, she likes to use a lot of butter and due to that fact I can only make her recipes a few times a month because of the large calorie in take. But each time I do it is well worth it. She has a new cookbook coming out this Christmas which I hope to have in my stocking as well.

Well, those are my top three cookbooks. I hope you enjoy and please leave a comment and tell me some of your favorites.

2 Responses to "My Favorite Cookbooks"

Reblogged this on alisueonthemove and commented:
I have tried two out of the three picks, I am going to have to look into the third. If you have been following me, then you know it’s the second pick that I have never heard of. What are your favorite cook books?

There is nothing like a new/good receipt to make one feel good. I am a grandma and still am looking for new ways to cook the basic stuff. Thanks for the three recommendations.

Leave a Reply

