This and That

Materialism and Christmas

Posted on: December 5, 2011

I have very distinct memories of waking up Christmas morning as a child and seeing our living room floor covered in Christmas presents. The sight filled me with such happiness and excitement. Santa had been to my house and left my brother and I presents! Just remembering it now brings a smile to my face. I am sure the light in my eyes brought my parents so much joy and year after year they desired to see it. Even after I was older my parents would still go all out on Christmas. They spoiled us out of love and now they spoil my boys out of that same love. We celebrate Christmas Eve with my side of the family and with five grandchildren I can assure you my parents do not leave one inch of the floor bare. As a mother I understand their motivation and also love seeing the expression on my boys faces as they look at all their presents. However, at our home on Christmas morning this is not the sight they will see.

Read the rest at my OC Family blog: http://blogs.ocfamily.com/author/parentingwithfaith/

Leave a Reply

