This and That

I will say it again…

Posted on: October 5, 2011

I do not like my son being in preschool. Well, it’s not that I don’t like HIM being in preschool I don’t like ME being a preschool mom. I feel as if this role has been thrown on me without warning and without a clear understand of the rules. My baby is growing up and I am not prepared to be a parent of a school age kid.

I was sitting in my first preschool parent meeting the other day having hot flashes. Sweat was rolling down my face as the director and the teachers spoke about our responsibilities, our commitment, and most of all our fundraising abilities. Did you know that you had to do fundraisers in preschool? I sure didn’t! I received a two pages worth of activities to participate in; the first of course was going door to door to get donations for the Trek-a-Thon in three weeks. Seriously! This couldn’t have been pushed back a few months until I got my feet wet?

I almost raised my hand to excuse myself from the meeting. I must be in the wrong room. I am not responsible enough for this. This is somewhere my mom should be, not me. I am too young to have a kid in preschool. Someone ten years old should be here, didn’t I just turn twenty five? Oh wait….I’m thirty one. Oh crap! How did that happen?!?!

This all just feels so wrong. So very, very wrong!

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated to help me avoid a nervous breakdown.

2 Responses to "I will say it again…"

My advice to you….don’t feel guilty about saying no to at least half of that stuff. You have a younger child at home. There’s only so much you can give, both of your time and your finances. I made the decision each year about how much I could give of each (it was different every year) and that was that. Not to sound cliche, but enjoy the preschool years. They go by too fast, and “big kid school” is a totally different animal 🙂

Thx! Great advice! I will totally try and enjoy these years and not be overwhelmed!

Leave a Reply

