This and That

My Love Hate Relationship with the OC

Posted on: September 23, 2011

I live in the OC. I love the OC. I have tried to move out of the OC and have always hated and regretted leaving. I love the weather; the glorious, lovely, sunshine filled weather. I love all that is available to us here: beach, mountains, swimming, hiking, biking, kayaking, and more.

What I don’t love about the OC is the fake. I don’t love the identity the OC has taken on in the last ten years or so, ever since those stupid shows came on and now reality is imitating art. The OC didn’t used to be like this. Full of plastic women who can’t show real expression due to the Botox. People who are obsessed with money and possessions. Young girls who know more about sex than I do and wear clothes that barely cover their bodies.

I miss the OC I grew up in. When the OC was just known for being a great surf destination. When people were genuine, authentic, and real. When the focus was the family and values. When kids were just kids.

I love the OC but I hate the OC.

I miss the OC.

2 Responses to "My Love Hate Relationship with the OC"

I totally agree with you. I have moved away and always came back. For the past 8 years I have lived within 3 minutes of where I grew up and now my son goes to the same Elementary school as I did. However, this is not the same Newport Beach that I grew up in.

I adore Orange County. The trick is to find the places you feel the most comfortable. I very rarely come in contact with the fake, plastic-breasted people that everyone assumes crowds our pretty streets, but I mostly stay in North OC. We have many conveniences, and I’ve made many great friends here. I don’t plan on leaving anytime soon.

However, I refuse to refer to it as “the OC.” That show is what began the bad reputation everyone has once they admit they’re from OC. It isn’t “the Orange County.” It’s OC. Just OC.

And it’s just fine with me. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

