This and That

Funny Friday: Well, That Didn’t Go How I Planned

Posted on: August 26, 2011

A few nights ago I was tucking my older son in bed and we were discussing the Trinity. Yes, hubby and I talk about very spiritual, deep topics with our three year old. Here’s how the conversation went:

Me:  “You know honey, Jesus died on the cross for us, then He rose from the dead three days later, and then went up to heaven to be with God.

Son:  “I know.”

Me: “But God sent the Holy Spirit to live inside us so we wouldn’t be alone.”

Son: “It lives inside me?”

Me: “Yes, the Holy Spirit lives in your heart that way God is always with you. Inside your heart.”

Son: “Inside me?”

Me: “Yep.”

Son:  “Inside me here?” (Pointing to his tummy)

Me: “No, inside your heart.” (Pointing to his chest)

Son: “Here?” (Pointing to his arm and concealing a sly smile)

Me: “No, your heart.” (Once again pointing to his chest)

Son: “Here?” (Pointing to his leg and now grinning from ear to ear)

Me: “No, the Holy Spirit lives in your heart. Inside you.” (Trying desparately not to laugh.)

Son: “The Holy Spirit doesn’t live inside me anymore.”

Me: “Oh yeah, why not?”

Son: “Because I just pooped him out before bed.”

And these are the conversations I have with my three year old before bed.

3 Responses to "Funny Friday: Well, That Didn’t Go How I Planned"

You just have to love the way the mind works in children. Love it. Thank you for sharing – what a great way to start a Friday.

Awesome. Gross and awesome.

Very creative. He definitely has a sense of humor!!

Leave a Reply

