This and That

Wonder Wednesday: Pickles

Posted on: August 17, 2011

Have you ever wondered how to make pickles?

Of course you have. I mean who hasn’t.

Making pickles is surprisingly easy and the end result is yum yum yummy!

Now, before I tell you how to make pickles I first want to make sure you know what a pickle really is. A pickle really is a cucumber. A cucumber! Did you know that? I didn’t. And I have it on good authority that other people were as amazed as I was. Or my friends are lying to me to make me feel better…which is entirely possible. But I am going to assume they aren’t lying and we were all in the dark about this pickle conspiracy.

Knowing this has made all kinds of pickle-cucumber jokes suddenly make sense. And yes I hear a lot of pickle-cucumber jokes. Ever heard of the video series called “Veggie Tales”? Jam packed with pickle-cucumber jokes that I always used to just smile and nod at but not anymore!! Haha! So funny!

Anyways….back to making pickles. I will be showing you how to make

Garlic and Dill Pickles.

You will need:

2-4 cucumbers (about 2-4 depending on how many pickles you want and depending on the size of the cucumbers)

1 gallon jar/pot (I used the pot from my crock pot)

2 1/2 quarts of water (about 10 cups)

1/4 cup of salt

1/4 cup white vinegar

2-4 tbsp of dill (depending on how strong a taste you want)

4-5 crushed and chopped garlic cloves ( I love garlic but if you don’t use less)

First -Boil water then add salt and vinegar. Stir until the salt dissolves.

Let cool. This is called brine.

Second -Wash, scrub, and chop up cucumbers into spears

Third – Alternate layering the cucumbers, dill, and garlic into your pot.

Leave 1-2 inches of empty space at the top.

Fourth – Pour in the brine.

Cucumbers need to be submerged so add a glass on top to push them down. (Please note I am giving props my hubby’s fraternity Delta Chi on my cup. Go Delta Chi!!)

Fifth -Cover pot with lid and drape a cloth or towel over it.

Sixth -Let it sit for 2-5 days (depending on how strong a flavor you want)

Seventh -Transfer the pickles into small containers with the brine and put in your refrigerator to be eaten at your leisure.

How easy is this??  So easy. Can’t wait to hear how your pickles turned out!!!

Hope you enjoy! I know we will!

2 Responses to "Wonder Wednesday: Pickles"

I always thought pickle making was hard/involved – but you make it sound so easy. We love pickles and will give it a try – especially appreciate you giving the receipt w/pictures (I am a visual person & pictures always work for me)

This is so cool!

Leave a Reply

