This and That

Off to Church I Go

Posted on: July 25, 2011

Every Sunday my family and I go to church and every Sunday as we are driving there the same thought pops into my head. I really wish our church was held in a church. Like a church with a steeple and cross on top, stained glass windows, and pews. I love seeing churches I pass by that are traditional looking like this. They seem so safe, so pretty, so holy. I sometimes go as far as to think that I would have a better spiritual life, a better relationship with God if I’d only worship in a church, church. Of course I know this is untrue and the second after I think it I then proceed to scold myself.

Most churches in the first centuries were located in homes, believers in China and other places all over the world have to worship in secret locations away from persecution. And I am complaining about going to church at a big warehouse.

After we had been going to the warehouse church for a while, my hubby and I decided to try out some new churches…just to see if there was another church we liked…that we could connect with…and that might be a better location. Location to my hubby meant what city the church was in (our church was in a different city from where we lived). I, on the other hand, was talking about the building the church was located in. A church with a steeple and a cross on top, stained glass windows, and pews.

We tried different churches for the next six months or so. We tried a lot of different churches. And I mean a lot. Tons. Hundreds. Ok not hundreds but it felt like that. Almost every weekend we were at a new church. Most of the churches were in great church locations -meaning they were in church, churches. With a steeple and cross on top, stained glass windows, and pews. So for me, externally they fit the bill perfectly. But internally my hubby and I left each Sunday empty. The church was beautiful and welcoming but we didn’t connect with the pastor, or we didn’t connect with the people, or we didn’t agree with the core beliefs of the churches.

So one Sunday we went back to our church in the big warehouse. Where there was no steeple with a cross on top, no stained glass windows, and no pews. And you know what…we felt filled again. Filled in our hearts because we connected with our pastor, our people, and the core beliefs.

So every Sunday my family and I go to church and every Sunday as we are driving there the same thought pops into my head. I really wish our church was held in a church. And maybe that thought will always pop into my head on the way but once I get to my church in the big warehouse that thought always disappears. My heart fills up and I feel at peace and at home as I begin to worship God with my pastor, and my people who share the same beliefs.

Image from berkeleyheritage.com

1 Response to "Off to Church I Go"

So true! Sometimes I miss the stained glass and pews I grew up with. What’s strange is one of the reasons why Tim and I started going to our church was the “bring your coffee into church while wearing flip flops” policy. It’s awesome that God meets us where we are at- no matter where that might be.

Leave a Reply

